Five new state laws placed restrictions on teenage drivers in Maryland, effective as of October 1, 2005. These new driving laws in Maryland apply to all drivers under age 18, regardless of when they received their learner’s permit or provisional driver’s license. These new teen driving restrictions were designed in response to an increase in teen car crashes and are expected to give teens more experience driving with fewer distractions.
The laws are as follows:
• A new driver must hold a learner’s permit for at least 6 months before applying for a provisional license. (This is an increase from 4 months)
• A new driver must complete at least 60 hours of driving practice with someone at least age 21 who has held a driver’s license for 3 years or more. (This is an increase from a minimum of 40 hours)
• At least 10 of the practice driving hours must occur at night.
• Drivers under the age of 18 are prohibited from talking on cell phones while driving.
• For the first 5 months with a provisional license, drivers under the age of 18 are prohibited from driving other minors unless they are direct family members or accompanied by an adult.
In October 2008, the Maryland Motor Vehicle Administration will begin notifying the parents or guardians of a minor who receives a citation for any moving violation. Also a minor will be required to obtain a learner's permit before they get behind the wheel, even under the supervision of a driving instructor. The permit validation date will be extended and can be valid for up to two years after the date of issuance.
See the official site for the Maryland Motor Vehicle Administration
, for a more detailed look at the driving laws in Maryland.