1. Local

RAMMY Awards 2014 – Washington, DC Award Winning Restaurants


The RAMMY Awards, known as the “Oscars of Washington DC area restaurants”, recognize and award excellence and achievement in the Washington DC Metropolitan restaurant industry. The first RAMMY Awards Gala, sponsored by the Restaurant Association Metropolitan Washington (RAMW), was held in 1982 and was attended by several dozen restaurant industry players. Today, the event has grown to over 1600 attendees and serves as a benchmark of success and prestige for nominees and RAMMY award winners.

The 2014 RAMMY Gala will be held on June 22 at the Washington Convention Center. The area's top restaurateurs, culinary talents and industry power players will come together at the annual RAMMY Gala donning their most fabulous hats, to honor everything from "Best New Restaurant," "Chef of the Year," "Hottest Bar Scene" and the new category of "Casual Restaurant of the Year."

Selecting the Nominees and Winners

The Rammy Award winners are selected by two separate panels of judges, the voting public and, for just one award - the Joan Hisaoka Associate Member of the Year - the RAMW Executive Committee. Any RAMW member is eligible for nomination as long as they meet the qualifications of any given category. The nominees are then reviewed by an anonymous panel of judges comprised of food/restaurant writers, educators and HR professionals who ultimately select the five finalists in each of the categories. The public votes for the winners in three categories: Neighborhood Gathering Place, Hottest Restaurant Bar Scene and Power Spot of the Year.

2013 RAMMY Winners

Fine Dining Restaurant of the Year - Blue Duck Tavern
Upscale Casual Restaurant of the Year - Estadio
New Restaurant of the Year - Mintwood Place
Casual Restaurant of the Year - C. F. Folks
Chef of the Year - Fabio Trabocchi - Fiola
Restaurateur of the Year - Ashok Bajaj - Knightsbridge Restaurant Group
Pastry Chef of the Year - Beverly Bates - Vidalia
Rising Culinary Star of the Year - Scot Harlan - Green Pig Bistro
Manager of the Year - Michael Nevarez - Vidalia/Bistro Bis/Woodward Table
Employee of the Year - Luis Noriega - Zengo
Wine Program of the Year - Marcel's
Beverage/Mixology Program of the Year - Room 11
Joan Hisaoka Associate Member - Marriott Wardman Park Hotel
Duke Ziebert Capital Achievement Award - Linda Lee
Honorary Milestone - Clyde's of Georgetown
Neighborhood Gathering Place of the Year - Nellie's Sports Bar
Hottest Restaurant Bar Scene of the Year - Bar Pilar
Power Spot of the Year - P. J. Clarke's

2012 RAMMY Winners

Fine Dining Restaurant - Bourbon Steak
Upscale Casual Restaurant - BlackSalt Fish Market & Restaurant
Casual Restaurant of the Year - Mitsitam Native Foods Café
Neighborhood Gathering Place - Café Saint-Ex
New Restaurant - Fiola
Chef of the Year - Vikram Sunderam - Rasika
Rising Culinary Star - Ed Witt - 701 Restaurant
Pastry Chef - Fabrice Bendano - Adour
Wine Program - Cork Wine Bar
Beverage/Mixology Program - Estadio
Power Spot - Founding Farmers - DC
Hottest Restaurant Bar Scene - Black Jack
Manager of the Year - Reagan Corbett - Jackson 20
Employee of the Year - José Alex Medrano - B. Smith's
Restaurateur of the Year - Jeff & Barbara Black - Black Restaurant Group
Associate Member of the Year - Adams-Burch

2011 Rammy Winners

Fine Dining - The Source by Wolfgang Puck
Upscale Casual - Tabard Inn
Neighborhood Gathering Place - Ted’s Bulletin
New Restaurant - Estadio
Chef - Todd Gray
Rising Culinary Star - Kyle Bailey, Birch & Barley
Pastry Chef - Tiffany MacIssac, NRG
Wine Program - Taberna del Alabardero
Beverage/Mixology Program - Founding Farmers
Power Spot - Carmine’s
Hottest Bar Scene - Chef Geoff’s, Tysons Corner
Favorite Restaurant - Carmine’s
Employee of the Year - Ryme Lansari, Café Atlantico, Jaleo
Manager of the Year - Hans Olsen, Clyde’s of Reston

Website: www.ramw.org

About the Restaurant Association Metropolitan Washington
Established in 1920, the Restaurant Association Metropolitan Washington was formed to unite, represent and promote restaurants and the regional food service industry. Today, the organization has more than 700 members in DC, Northern Virginia and Maryland and serves as the voice of establishments ranging from casual eateries to internationally acclaimed fine dining restaurants.

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.