1. Travel
Send to a Friend via Email
You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

WMATA – Washington Metropolitan Area Transit Authority


WMATA, the Washington Metropolitan Area Transit Authority, is the government agency that provides public transportation within the Washington, DC metropolitan area - Washington Metro and Metrobus. WMATA is a tri-jurisdictional government agency that is jointly funded by the District of Columbia, Virginia, and Maryland.

WMATA was created in 1967 and authorized by Congress to provide mass transit for the Washington DC area. The transit agency has a board of directors, with twelve members including six voting members and six alternates. Virginia, Maryland, and the District of Columbia each appoint two voting members and two alternate members. The position of board chairman rotates between the three jurisdictions. WMATA has its own police force, the Metro Transit Police Department, which provides a variety of law enforcement and public safety functions.

In 2005, the WMATA Board of Directors established a 21- member Riders' Advisory Council to allow customers to provide input to improve service on bus, rail, and MetroAccess. Council meetings are held on the first Wednesday of each month from 6:30 to 8:30 p.m. in the lobby level Meeting Room at Metro's Headquarters located at 600 5th Street, NW, Washington, DC. The meetings are open to the public. For more information, call 202-962-2891.

Read more about Public Transportation in Washington DC

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.