1. Travel
You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

Virginia Drivers Licenses

How to Get a Drivers License in the Commonwealth of Virginia

By

If you are a new resident of Virginia you have 60 days to get a Virginia driver's license and to register your vehicle. Virginia’s Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) issues drivers licenses, non-driver official ID cards, vehicle registrations, titles and tags. Residents can renew driver's licenses at DMV service locations and online.

The minimum age for obtaining a Virginia driver's license is 16 years and 3 months. To obtain a Virginia learner's permit you must be at least 15 years and 6 months. All applicants must pass a vision test. New drivers must complete a state-approved driver education program, pass a written knowledge test and a skills road test and hold a learner's permit for at least 9 months before receiving a full driver's license.

Virginia Driver’s License Requirements

  • 2 proofs of identity – one if under age 19. One must include proof of legal presence (birth certificate, passport or out-of-state driver’s license)

  • Proof of Virginia residency (lease, mortgage statement or utility bill)

  • Social Security documentation (original card, a bank statement or a pay stub with the number on it)

  • Proof of parental approval (if applicant is under 18 years old, notorized letter of permission)

Driver’s Education

New drivers under the age of 19 must complete a state-approved driver education program that includes 36 classroom periods. The approved training includes information about alcohol and drug abuse, aggressive driving, and distractions. It also includes hands-on driving instruction. At least 40 hours must be driven with a learner’s permit before receiving a full driver’s license.

Knowledge Test

The written test verifies your knowledge of traffic laws, road signs, and driving safety rules. The exam is offered on a walk-in basis and is available in English and Spanish. The test is not required if you are over age 19 and have a valid license from another state. Drivers under age 19 must prove that they have satisfied the education requirements.

Driving Road Test

The road test examines basic driving skills such as the ability to use turn signal lights, back up in a straight line, and parallel park. The test is not required if you have a valid license from another state.

DMV Locations in Northern Virginia

Toll Free Numbers:
(866) DMVLINE
1-866-368-5463
  • 2681 Mill Road, Alexandria, VA

  • 6306 Grovedale Drive, Alexandria, VA

  • 6702 Springfield Mall, Springfield, VA

  • 10455 Armstrong Street, Room 224, Fairfax, VA

  • 300 Park Avenue, Suite 104E, Falls Church, VA

  • 14950 Northridge Drive, Chantilly, VA

  • 100 Free Court, Sterling, VA

  • 945 Edwards Ferry Road NE, Leesburg, VA

  • 8210 Cinderbed Road, Lorton, VA

  • 9800 Godwin Drive, Manassas, VA

  • 2731 Caton Hill Road, Woodbridge, VA

DMV Website

www.dmvnow.com
Related Video
Tips to Pass the Driving Test

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.